Getting Involved in College

When I started college at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, one of my goals was to get involved on campus. I thought the best way to do this was to join a student organization. I joined three organizations my freshman year. They included American Marketing Association, Institute of Management Accountants, and Catholic Student Coalition. The organization that I stuck with all four years was American Marketing Association because I felt it was a good fit for me since I’m majoring in marketing. I have made a lot of friends through AMA and created a good professional network.

Getting involved on campus helps students get out of their comfort zone and allows them to interact with other students who have the same interests as them. Making friends in college can be frightening to many young adults. Students will make friends in their dorm but being able to join a student organization can help them connect with students who have the same interests.

If I hadn’t joined a student organization while in college, I would not have become the person I am today. I have had the opportunity to take on various leadership roles which has helped set me apart when interviewing for jobs/internships. I have also gotten better at talking with employers and my peers. I use to be shy in a large group setting, but being in a large organization, such as AMA, has helped me tremendously. It is much easier for me to go up to someone new and introduce myself. I would suggest that anyone who is starting college or transferring to a new college, join a student organization and get involved! You will get more out of it than you might think!

Leave a Reply

