Ways to Make Your Facebook Posts Engaging

Throughout my time at UW-Whitewater, I have come across various tips for how to make Facebook posts more engaging. There are a few tips that I would like to share that I think a crucial and should be used in every post.

facebook-logo

Tip #1: Keep them short

When you are posting on Facebook, the shorter the post the better. Think about this, when you are scrolling through your Facebook feed, are you going to stop and read a post where you have to click the “show more” button? Chances are most people won’t. Therefore, when you are posting on Facebook for your business, keep your content minimal. If you need to give more information, have a link to a website that the user can click on.

Tip #2: Use visuals

When I scroll through my news feed, a picture or video is more likely to get my attention. Wouldn’t you agree? Posting an image can tell so much about your brand.We have been told “picture is worth a thousand words”. Not only can you post pictures, you can post videos. By posting videos, chances are you won’t even need to have a caption. If you are telling your followers about a deal you are having or an event you are hosting, using a graphic to announce this is much more appealing to customers than a post with just text.If you aren’t good with Adobe, I suggest using Canva. It is a free tool to create unique graphics.

20130616_171201

Tip #3: Ask questions

I have done some experiments on the Facebook pages I manage and I have found that asking your followers a question in your posts keeps them more engaged. Be sure to keep the questions short of course. If you ask something like “What is your opinion on this?” the chances of your followers responding is fairly good. Consumers like to give their opinion but be careful, because if you are asking for their opinion on one of your products, you might get a bad response. If this happens, make sure to respond right away like I mentioned in my previous blog. If you would like more information about response time, check out my blog, Four Reasons Why Facebook Marketing is Essential.

I hope you found these tips useful. Remember to use these tips is ALL your Facebook posts to create more engaging posts. If you have any other tips, please share in the comments below! Thanks for reading!

 

Growing Social Media
[Photo by: mkhmarketing]
Leave a Reply

